Are You Stuck Trying to Create? Read This.

Paula Jean Ferri
4 min readFeb 16, 2021

--

Commonly, creativity is thought of as the artists, the painters, the writers, the musicians.

But what if I told you there is so much more to it? Creativity affects every aspect of our lives. And since it is everywhere, it is also readily available.

As a child, I loved books and reading and dreamed of being an author. However, I was also a student that was good at math, so I considered myself too logical to be considered creative. Life came full circle for me when I wrote a paper in college on how Tourette syndrome affects communication. My professors encouraged me to publish the paper. Instead, I expanded it into a self-help book and made my childhood dreams a reality.

I can be logical while still being creative. For the first time, I realized that I am creative. I started getting so many ideas for stories and books to write. And then like most writers, I had a severe case of writer’s block.

Getting to the Root of the Problem

In working past this, I did what any logical person would do. I studied. I didn’t do a simple Google search on “how to remove writer’s block.” I first searched for the root of creativity, needing to know what it is and how it works. I studied what it takes to create something beautiful and worthwhile. As well as how to create more consistently. And what I found opened up a whole new world to me.

I don’t deal with writer’s block near as much as a result. When artists depend on their creativity for their lifestyle, it helps to be able to move forward without needing to wait for the inspiration to strike. We can go out and find — and create — that inspiration ourselves.

Creativity is something that we each have and use every day. Stop thinking of it as something that is difficult to come by, then we can gain consistent access to the creative energy all around us.

The root of the word creativity is the word create. To create is to “bring something into existence.”

Stop for a moment and look around you. No matter where you are, EVERYTHING around you once did not exist. This includes mountains and trees, couches, blankets, houses, and whatever device you are reading this on.

If everything around us at one point did not exist, it was created and holds that creative energy. As Albert Einstein once said:

“Everything is energy and that’s all there is to it. Match the frequency of the reality you want and you cannot help but get that reality.”

We can then take it a step farther and see how much we are creating constantly. We create emotions, relationships, conversations, knowledge, and choices. Every choice we make creates some form of action or result.

So What Are You Creating?

This is why so many in the self-help field talk about how we create our own lives. We are in control of how our lives turn out, regardless of the choices of others around us. Creativity is the same concept.

I can create new content when I write an article. Then I publish it and create the article itself. I can create the content within the book by writing, then create a physical book during the publishing process.

When I work out, I am creating more health and strength. When I talk to someone new, I created a relationship. When you have a problem, you find (or create) a solution. These all are part of the definition of “bringing into existence.”

We are more creative than we give ourselves credit for. We constantly create and build something new.

Does that always mean it’s always good? Nope. As a writer, that is why I have an editor. This is why we find people who add to our ideas.

The thesaurus, like the dictionary, is a good friend of mine, and to create has similar terms such as build, design, form, discover, produce, organize, make, and start. When I start on a project, it doesn’t have to be good, as long as I start. Along the way, I can discover a better way as I build and design a creation that matches what I’m trying to say.

Really, that is why we value creativity and art. It is a form of communication that isn’t easily expressed.

Get it out. Tweak and adjust as needed. We need your ideas. We need your creativity.

So What Now?

Need more on how exactly to unlock that creativity? Join me for my new online course HERE.

Also, be sure to clap for this article and share it with the creatives in your life.

--

--