Becoming Part of the Solution

Paula Jean Ferri
3 min readJun 4, 2020

I’m not unaware of the terrible things that happen in the world. I always write about the good things and try to focus on bringing joy and empowering others. My personal social media feed doesn’t have any mention of current news stories unless they affect me personally.

This doesn’t mean I’m turning a blind eye or utilizing some kind of privilege. Though I know I have it. Every time I see these stories, my heart bleeds. I cry. I just also hate crying.

However, I don’t hate it as much as seeing friends have high anxiety taking their children grocery shopping because of skin color. I don’t hate it as much as seeing a request for something as basic and important as the ability to breathe being denied. Or women and children being abused. Or being fired for disabilities. Or any kind of racism, ageism, or poor treatment of another human being who is simply different than you.

I get that these things exist, and I hate that they do. However, you still won’t see me sharing these events on anything I post on any platform. Where we place our energy and focus makes a difference.

I don’t want to focus on the hate and the cruelty. I want to focus on the solution.

What am I doing to help eradicate these cruel injustices that happen in the world?

What am I doing to lift others? How am I making the world a better place?

What are you doing to help?

(No really, let me know what you are doing.)

I may not post about human trafficking and modern-day slavery, but I will post about Operation Underground Railroad that has saved thousands of children and helped facilitate the arrest of several involved in these rings.

I may not be well-educated in the Black Lives Matter movement, but I’m learning.

Oh boy, am I learning. I’m not going to pretend that I can direct you to all the best websites, documentaries, experiences, etc. Although Black Lives Matter is a good place to start.

I don’t know what to say or how to say it.

These aren’t my experiences to tell. First and foremost, it is my job to understand that this is a problem. Secondly, it’s my job to educate myself. Most importantly, it is my job to become a part of the solution.

What does that look like? Honestly, I don’t know. I’ve spent so many years not even understanding racism or how it still exists, even today.

But it is a problem that racism still exists.

I want to start writing articles that share this journey as I learn more about Black History, and as I learn and grow as a person in general. As I continue to learn, I’ll probably hate the things I have written today.

But I can be proud of myself for taking a step in the right direction.

“When you know better, do better.”

That’s the goal isn’t it? We all want to be better human beings. If I really want to show that I love others, I need to understand them and know what they need. This is where the education part comes in.

I’ll be over here doing my research, but any and all ideas are welcome.

--

--